top of page
Search
alixandrastiefel

That is Enough


What do you do when they prosper? That person who broke you, who made your life a living hell and destroyed you to the point that you had to fight to get back on your feet... the person who doesn't even deserve to still be where they are, but they even got promoted.


In these moments, it is easy to feel unheard and unseen... it's easy to feel like your story doesn't matter and the abuse you underwent has no consequence. However, I would like to ask you if it's possible that you can look at it from another perspective. It doesn't matter where that person goes, they cannot run away from what they did to you. It doesn't matter how much people try to say that someone is a good person, it can't change your experience. You were there in those moments of pain and others were not, so they cannot make you feel like your story is untrue.


Now I want you to realize that above all else, you deserve to move on! You deserve to live free. You deserve to have a wonderful and fulfilling life. So, instead of waiting for someone else to give you the permission to move on, just do it. You did the work, you fought the battle, you told the appropriate people and they chose not to hear you. The pain you went through to be okay again does not go unseen and someday, his judgement will come. So, walk on knowing that you deserve to see all the colors of life with or without others doing the "right thing" in punishing him.


The best revenge you have against a Narcissistic person is to keep living. They hope that their very existence will ruin you and that their voice will forever live inside of you head. But, I chose to believe that I would be okay and then I fought until I couldn't fight anymore. When I was too tiered to lift another finger in protest, I finally took inventory of all that was lost, picked up the pieces and moved on with my life.


So I'm here to tell you that even when justice isn't served, there's hope. Your very existence is that hope... you lived... you survived and then, you got back to living. Not going through the motions of living, but ACTUALLY LIVING! You smile, you laugh and some days you cry, but not because the world is the darkest it's ever been; instead it's because you're grateful that you're finally here... the place you didn't think was possible to get to.


How did I get here? Well, I stopped allowing other people's reaction to my pain to dictate its reality. Then, I took charge of my own life and decided what it was that makes me the happiest. Now, I'm living a life I at one time could only dream of. I have found the things that make me smile and the people that make me laugh. So, when I found out that a past abuser had been given a promotion and that those in authority who were supposed to help me chose not to hear me, I took a moment to contemplate the situation. Then, I smiled because there was no searing pain in my chest... I could breath... my heart wasn't racing... but there were tears in my eyes because I was actually totally okay and THAT IS ENOUGH.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page