top of page
Search
alixandrastiefel

The Story of "Front Row Seat"




"Front Row Seat" single is by Abi & Ali out on all platforms.

"Red Lipstick Month" Blog Post from last year:


This song is the most personal song I have ever written here's why...


Every year, I celebrate November as my "Red Lipstick Month."I talked at length about it last year, but today I just want to breifely explain where I've been and how I am where I am. Red has always been my freedom color. Someone a long time ago told me I couldn't wear red lipstick... so I vowed to take it back and I did. It started with putting lipstick on and it ended with "Front Row Seat."


When I started this journey of healing in July of 2020, my therapist asked me "What does the other side look like to you?" I didn't have an answer. I didn't even know if the other side was a place I could even get to. As the years slipped by, I eventually realized that the other side was attainable, but I didn't know how. Finally, this year I realized that the other side was now.


I found the other side in a New York City sunrise over a film set. I found the other side in a TV show script that was accepted as my graduate thesis. I found the other side in the way that my Violin sounds when I play. I found the other side in realizing that I wasn't afraid to live my life anymore. I found the other side in the beauty of being able to dream again.


This year instead of celebrating the past like I ususally do, I wanted to do something different. This year I wanted to celebrate the future. Celebrating that I survivied all the years of abuse & pain is something amazing. But, I don't just want to survive. I want to thrive. So, my single "Front Row Seat" is me doing just that... THRIVING!


"Front Row Seat" talks about how wonderful it is when you realize that you didn't just survive the pain, but now you can look the abuser in the eye & tell them that their reign of terror is over. So, to all the people who said I couldn't... to all the people who said I wouldn't... to all the pain... to all the heartbreak... to every reason that I celebrate "Red Lipstick Month," YOU GET A FRONT ROW SEAT.


The most important line in this song is "Your words can't hold me anymore... you get a front row seat." The hardest part about the other side is that you never forget the things that your abusers said to you. But, freedom comes the moment you stop caring that they said it. For me, "Front Row Seat" is the moment when I stopped caring. Even in the writing/production process of this single I had to stop myself from being overly critical & just allow it to be what it is even if it isn't perfect. We can't be perfect. Perfection is unattainable, but we can love the ride. We can enjoy all the little imperfections of life. If everything was perfect, there wouldn't be anything unique. So, I took a risk on this song... I created it to be unique in the hopes that it'll reach past me. If 2020 me could hear this song, I think it would remind her that there's light just around the bend if she can just hold on.


This is my last year celebrating "Red Lipstick Month" because I'm heading to the future now. I'm not celebrating the things I've gotten through anymore. I'm only going to celebrate the things that are to come. So, here's to falling in love agian. Here's to starting again. Here's to new adventures & here's to living like I was never broken. I don't need my brokeness as a badge of honor. I am a survivor, but that's not what makes me who I am. The past doesn't define me. Me is the adventure I'm about to go on... Where that leads, I have no idea, but it doesn't matter because I love my life & I love myself.


SO, TAKE A SEAT THERE IN THE FRONT AND WATCH ME LIVE LIKE YOU NEVER BROKE ME. WATCH ME BE THE HAPPIEST I'LL EVER BE. WATCH YOUR WORDS FALL INTO MY PAST AS I STEP INTO THE FUTURE. SEE, THE BEAUTY OF THIS MOMENT IS THAT WHEN PEOPLE LOOK AT ME, THEY DON'T EVEN KNOW THAT YOU EVER EXISTED. SO, YOU DIDN'T ERASE ME, I ERASED YOU. I THOUGHT I'D BE THE ONE WATCHING YOU BE HAPPY; NEVER FINDING JUSTICE FOR WHAT YOU DID. BUT, I DON'T CARE ANYMORE BECAUSE YOU GET A FRONT ROW SEAT TO THE PART OF THE SHOW WHERE I MAKE IT LIKE YOU NEVER EXISTED FOR ME AT ALL.


Listen to "Front Row Seat" now on all platforms.



51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page